About the Practice and Training Tests

Practice Test

The practice test mirrors the summative assessment that students will take during the 2018-2019 school year. Each grade level assessment includes a variety of question types and difficulty (approximately 30 items each in ELA and math) as well as an ELA and math performance task at each grade level (3–8 and 11). The practice tests include additional universal tools, designated supports, and accommodations that were not available in the previous version. All universal tools, designated supports, and accommodations approved by Smarter Balanced are available on the practice tests. Language supports, including translated glossaries and stacked Spanish translation, are available on mathematics Practice and Training Tests

Training Test

The training tests combine sample items for different grade levels and subject areas. The following tests are available:

  • ELA
    • Grades 3-5 ELA
    • Grades 6-8 ELA
    • Grades 9-11 ELA
  • Mathematics
    • Grade 3-5 Math
    • Grade 6-8 Math
    • Grade 9-11 Math

The purpose of these training tests is to become familiar with the system, functionality, and item types; the tests are not intended to guide classroom instruction.

Some students may have difficulty with some of the content aligned to higher grades within the grade level/subject range of each training test; nevertheless, this should not interfere with students’ ability to interact with an item for its intended training purpose. If an item appears to be too difficult, encourage students to experiment with the tools, choose the best answer and move on to the next item.

Accessing the Practice and Training Tests

Users may take the practice and training tests using guest mode or securely using a supported secure browser or web browser. In general, the following web browsers can be used: Firefox 10–45, Chrome 41-51, Safari 5.1-10, and Internet Explorer 10 or 11. For more information, refer to the Supported Browsers page.